Concert Review
Venues & Equipment
Suggested Media
New Jaco Stuff

2005 release. Yes folks, after many delays the DVD is finally here, just a reminder that it is a Region Two DVD so you must have a multi-region DVD player in order to play it. The Jaco Pastorius Big Band recorded live at the Aurex Jazz Festival at the Budokan in Tokyo Japan on September 1st, 1982. This is incredible rare footage of an entire concert of Jaco and his big band, and the Audiophile Imports DVD of the Year 2006. Jaco Pastorius, bass; Randy Brecker, trumpet; Bob Mintzer, sax; Peter Erskine, drums, tympani, percussion; Othello Molineaux, steel drums; Don Alias, percussion; with special guest Toots Thielemans, harmonica; and Elmer Brown, Forrest Buchtel, Jon Faddis, Ron Tooley, trumpet; Peter Graves, Wayne Andre, Bill Reichenbach, trombone; David Bargeron, trombone, tuba; Alex Foster, sax, clarinet, piccolo; Mario Cruz, Randy Emerick, sax, clarinet, flute; Paul McCandliss, sax, oboe, English horn; Peter Gordon, Brad Warnaar, French horn. PLEASE NOTE: THIS IS A REGION TWO DVD, YOU MUST HAVE A MULTI-REGION DVD PLAYER IN ORDER TO PLAY IT. Running Time: 80 Minutes.

(Available 5/1, place preorders now)
2006 release. Jaco Pastorius & the Word of Mouth Big Band recorded live at the Kool Jazz Festival at Avery Fisher Hall, in New York City on June 27 & 28, 1982. Jaco and the Big Band made their NYC debut a few months prior to traveling to Japan to record 'Twins,' and what a show it was! Jaco Pastorius, bass; Randy Brecker, trumpet; Bob Mintzer, sax; Peter Erskine, drums, tympani, percussion; Othello Molineux, steel drums; Don Alias, percussion; with special guest Toots Thielemans, harmonica; and Lew Soloff, Jon Faddis, Ron Tooley, trumpet; Wayne Andre, Bill Reichenbach, David Tyler, trombone; Mario Cruz, sax, clarinet, flute; Randy Emerick, sax; Aaron Levin, sax, trumpet; Frank Wess, sax, oboe; Peter Gordon, John Clarke, French horn.

2006 release. Recorded in 1976, this is the 30th anniversary edition reissued and remastered in 2006 with six unreleased bonus tracks from the original recording session in limited digipack packaging. This solo album from Ian Hunter, the leader of Mott the Hoople features Jaco Pastorius playing bass on all but one track, and guitar on one track. Ian Hunter, rhythm guitar, piano, lead vocals; Gerry Weems, Cornell Dupree, guitar; Chris Stainton, keys; David Sanborn, sax; Lew Soloff, trumpet; David Bargeron, trombone; Arnie Lawrence, clarinet; Dominic Cortese, accordion; Jaco Pastorius, bass, guitar; Aynsley Dunbar, drums; Don Alias, percussion; the singers: Freddie Mercury, Brian May, Roger Meadows Taylor- (Queen), and others.

2006 release. Jaco Pastorius performing a solo concert recorded live at the Berliner Jazztage in Berlin Germany on November 2, 1979. Jaco performs nine songs including "Sophisticated Lady" with guest Toots Thielemans on harmonica. Jaco plays solo interpretations of "Mysterious Mountain," "Teen Town," "Broadway Blues," "Chromatic Fantasy," and more.

2006 release. This is the followup to the "Word of Mouth Revisited" CD recorded in 2003, once again arranged by Peter Graves who worked with Jaco during Jaco's early years in Florida and when Jaco assembled the Big Band in 1981 and 1982. This time out Peter has not only assembled some of the best bass players in the world, but also musicians that played with Jaco at various times in his career including Hiram Bullock, Mike Stern, Randy Bernsen, Randy Brecker, Bob Mintzer, Toots Thielemans, Peter Erskine, Othello Molineux and Robert Thomas Jr. Jaco is also featured in a rare live performance of "Reza" from the mid-80's, Peter Graves isolated his performance and had the big band record around it. The bassists: Jaco Pastorius, Richard Bona, Victor Wooten, Jimmy Haslip, Gerald Veasley, Will Lee, Mark Egan, Israel "Cachao" Lopez Jr.; Hiram Bullock, Mike Stern, guitar; Randy Brecker, Arturo Sandoval, trumpet; Bob Mintzer, sax; Toots Thielemans, harmonica; Peter Erskine, drums; Othello Molineux, steel drums; Robert Thomas Jr, hand drums; and the Big Band conducted by Peter Graves; Ed Calle, Gary Keller, sax, flute, clarinet; Billy Ross, sax, flute, piccolo, Mike Brignola, sax, bass clarinet, flute; Jim Hacker, Jason Carder, Ken Faulk, trumpet, flugelhorn, Dana Teboe, John Kricker, trombone; and the rhythm section: Randy Bernsen, guitar; Mike Levine, keys; Jeff Carswell, bass; and Mark Griffith, drums.

Released in Japan 2011 & Contains all Jaco's Legitimate Releases apart from the first, Plus a disc of solo tracks previously unreleasd. Even if you've already got the others, hard to resist the miniture Jaco Bass - Complete with stand and micro gauge nylon strings!

Disc 1 - Word of Mouth
1. Crisis
2. 3 Views of a Secret
3. Liberty City
4. Chromatic Fantasy
5. Blackbird
6. Word of Mouth
7. John and Mary

Disc 2 - Twins I
1. Invitation
2. Soul Intro / The Chicken
3. Continuum
4. Liberty City
5. Three Views of a Secret
5. Sophisticated Lady

Disc 3 - Twins II
1. Amerika
2. Okonkole' Y Trompa
3. Reza / Giant Steps / Reza (Reprise)
4. Elegant People
5. Twins
6. Pac-Man Blues (Fannie Mae)
7. Eleven

Disc 4 - Invitation
1. Invitation
2. amerika
3. Soul Intro/The Chicken
4. Continuum
5. Liberty City
6. Sophisticated Lady
7. Fannie Mae
8. Reza/Giant Steps/Reza (Reprise)
9. Eleven

Disc 5 - The Birthday Concert
1. Soul Intro
2. Continuum
3. Invitation
4. Three Views Of A Secret
5. Liberty City
6. Punk Jazz
7. Happy Birthday
8. Reza
9. Domingo
10. Band Intros
11. Amerika

Disc 6 - The Jaco Solo Tracks

Legitimate Media Available Here!